Entity in Charge of Maintenance

The "Entity in Charge of Maintenance" regulation not only ensures greater transparency and improved interoperability in the European area, it also represents an essential set of rules for increasing safety in rail traffic.

Customers around the world rely on our software solutions

ECM (EU) 2019/779

The ECM – the entity in charge of maintenance – plays an important role in the European rail transport system. In the National Vehicle Register (NVR), an ECM is allocated to each vehicle. This entity is responsible for implementing a maintenance system that ensures the safe operating condition of the rail vehicle and thus contributes essentially to railroad safety. In the course of the ECM regulation it is necessary to clearly define responsibilities and to regulate the processes in the company.

 

Interoperability

Compliance with standards and legal requirements to ensure rail safety is just as crucial as meeting interoperability requirements. Not only the railroad safety is guaranteed by the implementation of the regulation, also the cross-border rail traffic in the European area is guaranteed.

ECM compliance

Ensuring ECM compliance is associated with high documentation and communication efforts – not only internally, but also with external partners.

With our modular standard software products this is a matter of the past. Our portfolio supports ECM 3 and ECM 4 managers in complying with ECM guidelines. No matter whether it’s compliance with processes, documentation around the vehicle, or the central storage of maintenance strategies and other maintenance requirements, with our software products you are optimally equipped to meet the ECM requirements.

 

Go to Products

ECM Conformity? We make it possible.
Our Rail Solutions portfolio supports you

We have designed our software solutions to support the respective stakeholders in complying with the ECM regulation. Our experts will be happy to advise you on all aspects of ECM compliance and show you how our software can help you to achieve it.

ECM 3 Conformity

ECM 3 managers benefit from complete, end-to-end documentation on all aspects of rail vehicles, which can be accessed at the push of a button. With Rail Asset, you will always have an overview of upcoming maintenance deadlines as well as any defects found on the vehicle, so you can schedule your rail vehicles for maintenance in a timely manner. The software also has interfaces to the levels ECM 2 and ECM 4, thus transparency is increased.

Rail Asset also supports you in:

  • the creation and tracking of rail vehicles and their components in their entities,
  • the maintenance of the technical attributes of rail vehicles and components,
  • the management of safety-critical components (installation, removal, software versions),
  • the traceability of maintenance activities (repairs, modifications, etc.),
  • the maintenance and documentation of maintenance types according to manufacturer specifications, as well as their maintenance intervals,
  • the management and documentation of performance data of rail vehicles and components (mileage, operating hours, condition data),
  • the management of maintenance notifications (preventive and corrective),
  • the assignment and tracking of tests, rebuilds, modifications,
  • the management and monitoring of usage restrictions,
  • the warranty monitoring,
  • the management of certified workshops for maintenance activities,
  • the linking and provision of sensor data at vehicle and components level,
  • the compliance with other international standards (ISO standards, TSI standards, EN).
Go to Rail Asset

ECM 4 Conformity

With Rail Workshop we have developed a software that supports workshops throughout the entire workshop process and thus makes an important contribution to ECM 4 conformity. From planning, to execution, to the operational release, everything is neatly documented and processed according to the defined maintenance requirements by ECM 2.

Rail Workshop supports ECM 4 responsible persons with:

  • The management of customer inquiries and orders for the maintenance of rail vehicles or their components.
  • The maintenance and implementation of maintenance types (preventive and corrective), as well as the related work processes, work plans, checklists, spare parts, tools and qualifications.
  • The management, planning and resource allocation of vehicle parking in accordance with customer order.
  • Resource planning according to ECM 2 maintenance requirements.
  • Graphic disposition and planning of vehicle parking on track occupancy plans.
  • Visualization of work utilization and order progress on a workshop monitor.
  • Interfaces to measuring equipment (e.g.: Calipri, Dr. Wehrhahn).
  • Checklist-based mobile order processing.
  • Formal technical operational release of rail vehicles and handover of complete maintenance file.
  • Dashboard and evaluation functionality for workshop performance and control.
Go to Rail Workshop

The ECM regulation (EU) 2019/779, what has been changed?

The regulation (EU) 2019/779 has been in force since 16 June 2020. It replaced the regulation 445/2011. You can read about the concrete changes resulting from the introduction of the new regulation in our blog post "The ECM regulation (EU) 2019/779, what has been changed?".

Go to Post

Standards

We not only keep ourselves up to date with norms and standards in the railroad industry, we also keep our software products up to date with the latest industry standards. In this way we guarantee that our solutions meet the relevant standards.
This makes Boom the ideal partner for all software questions related to your fleet.

Our rail experts will be glad to help you. Contact us now and get one step closer to ECM compliance.

Contact us now

ECM functions and their responsibilities

ECM 1
Management function

The introduction of the maintenance system is the responsibility of the management function (ECM 1). The core task of the ECM is to supervise and coordinate the functions ECM 2 to ECM 4.

The role of ECM 1 is to be performed exclusively internally, whereby support from external parties is not excluded.

1
ECM 2
Development function

Essentially, the maintenance development function is responsible for the creation and modification of maintenance requirements. The administration of the rolling stock maintenance data is also performed by this function. This entity is also responsible for compliance with standards and legal requirements.

2
ECM 3
Fleet management function

The role of the ECM 3 responsible person is to manage the removal of rolling stock for maintenance purposes. The ECM 3 is responsible for placing orders and putting the vehicle back in operation.

The recommissioning of the vehicle also includes the control of the maintenance provider. The selection of a suitable workshop is also in the hands of the ECM 3 responsible person. He has to make sure that the appropriate workshops are selected.

3
ECM 4
Delivery function

ECM 4 refers to workshops with a corresponding ECM certification. They are responsible for the maintenance of rail vehicles. In doing so, they have to make sure that the relevant requirements of ECM 2 are met. In order to check this, the workshop has to present the proof of maintenance including the documents for release to service.

4

The introduction of the maintenance system is the responsibility of the management function (ECM 1). The core task of the ECM is to supervise and coordinate the functions ECM 2 to ECM 4.

The role of ECM 1 is to be performed exclusively internally, whereby support from external parties is not excluded.

Essentially, the maintenance development function is responsible for the creation and modification of maintenance requirements. The administration of the rolling stock maintenance data is also performed by this function. This entity is also responsible for compliance with standards and legal requirements.

The role of the ECM 3 responsible person is to manage the removal of rolling stock for maintenance purposes. The ECM 3 is responsible for placing orders and putting the vehicle back in operation.

The recommissioning of the vehicle also includes the control of the maintenance provider. The selection of a suitable workshop is also in the hands of the ECM 3 responsible person. He has to make sure that the appropriate workshops are selected.

ECM 4 refers to workshops with a corresponding ECM certification. They are responsible for the maintenance of rail vehicles. In doing so, they have to make sure that the relevant requirements of ECM 2 are met. In order to check this, the workshop has to present the proof of maintenance including the documents for release to service.

“We can offer services far beyond the standard functions of regular maintenance software with our standard interfaces for various measurement systems as e.g. NextSense or Dr.Wehrhahn. Measurement values are automatically acquired and used for the evaluation of wear and defects.”

Natascha Man
Product Manager Rail Solutions, Boom Software AG

"With rail solutions and its function of mobile production data acquisition, nothing stands in the way of a complete digitalization of the maintenance of rail vehicles and their order processing. With Rail Solutions you are optimally prepared for the paperless age".

Bernhard Labenbacher
Senior Business Analyst & Senior IT Projektleiter, ÖBB-Technische Services GmbH

“It is important for us to have a competent partner for the processing of international projects, a partner whose solutions can adapt flexibly and easily to the different frameworks and complexity levels of our customers’ projects. Boom has definitely become a qualified partner for our projects on account of this and the construction of software for multinational requirements such as multi-language support or the depiction of corporate structures.”

Manfred Bock
Global Industry Leader Rail, T-Systems International GmbH

“Rail Solutions is optimized for our requirements and offers functions at all levels of our vehicle maintenance processes. Especially the functions in wheel-set management have supported us in building one of the most modern wheel-set reprocessing centers in Europe.”

Michael Fladenhofer
Prozess-Consulting, Rail Cargo Austria AG

“The data collected by our measurement instruments are promptly available to our customers for analysis with the Calipri-Explorer, which we developed together with Boom Software.”

Clemens Gasser
Geschäftsführer, Nextsense GmbH

From planning to operative execution and complete documentation, everything will be controlled in future by the BMM.

Bettina Lamprecht
Marketing Manager
More

Since 2017 the workshop planning for the light rail vehicles of ÜSTRA Hannoversche Verkehrsbetriebe AG is done by BMM. This local transport company constantly optimizes maintenance and thus creates more efficiency in rail transport.

Tanja Gosch
Head of Marketing & Product Management
More
Focus on
Rail
Blog
Roman
Rail Asset- The software that focuses on your rail vehicle
Beitrag vom 6. August 2020

Keeping an eye on your rail vehicles 365 days a year? Our Rail Asset biography makes this possible.

More
Bora
Megatrend digitalization – competitive advantages for workshops
Beitrag vom 10. August 2020

Increasing demands on productivity and vehicle availability, strict quality and safety regulations: Rapidly changing conditions put rail transport companies under pressure. The digital workshop offers new possibilities and solutions.

More
Roman
Clear the way for Rail Workshop
Beitrag vom 3. September 2020

Rail Workshop is the standardized software solution for efficient and digital workshop management.

More

Entity in Charge of Maintenance

Die Durchführungsverordnung „Entity in Charge of Maintenance“ sorgt nicht nur für mehr Transparenz und verbesserte Interoperabilität im europäischen Raum, sie stellt auch ein wesentliches Regelwerk zur Erhöhung der Sicherheit im Schienenverkehr dar.

Kunden auf der ganzen Welt vertrauen auf unsere Softwarelösungen

ECM (EU) 2019/779

Die ECM – die für die Instandhaltung zuständige Stelle – spielt eine wichtige Rolle im europäischen Eisenbahnverkehrssystem. Im Fahrzeugregister ist jedem Fahrzeug ein Instandhalter zugeordnet. Dieser ist für die Implementierung eines Instandhaltungssystem verantwortlich, welches den sicheren Betriebszustand des Schienenfahrzeugs gewährleistet und somit im Wesentlichen zur Bahnsicherheit beiträgt. Im Zuge der ECM Verordnung ist es notwendig Zuständigkeiten klar zu definieren und die Prozesse im Unternehmen zu regeln.

 

Interoperabilität

Die Einhaltung von Normen und gesetzlichen Vorgaben zur Gewährleistung der Bahnsicherheit ist genauso ein Thema der Durchführungsverordnung wie auch die Erfüllung der Interoperabilitätsanforderungen. Nicht nur die Bahnsicherheit wird durch die Implementierung der Durchführungsverordnung gewährleistet, sondern auch der grenzüberschreitende Schienenverkehr im Raum Europas.

ECM konform

Die Sicherstellung der ECM Compliance ist mit hohem Dokumentations- und Kommunikationsaufwand verbunden – nicht immer nur intern, sondern auch zu externen Partnern.

Mit unseren modularen Standardsoftware Produkten von Rail Solutions gehört das der Vergangenheit an. Unser Portfolio unterstützt ECM 3 und ECM 4 Verantwortliche bei der Einhaltung der ECM Richtlinien. Egal ob es um die Einhaltung der Prozesse, die Dokumentation rund um das Fahrzeug, oder um die zentrale Ablage von Instandhaltungsstrategien und sonstigen Instandhaltungsvorgaben geht, mit unseren Software Produkten sind Sie bestens gerüstet, um die ECM Vorgaben zu erfüllen.

 

Weiter zu den Produkten

ECM-Konformität? Wir machen es möglich.
Unser Rail Solutions Portfolio unterstützt Sie dabei

Wir haben unsere Softwarelösungen so konzipiert, dass sie die jeweiligen Akteure bei der Einhaltung der ECM Verordnung unterstützen. Unsere Experten beraten Sie gerne rund um das Thema ECM Konformität und zeigen Ihnen, wie unsere Software Sie dabei unterstützt.

ECM 3-Konformität

ECM 3 Verantwortliche profitieren durch Rail Asset von einer durchgängigen vollständigen Dokumentation rund um das Schienenfahrzeug, welche sich per Knopfdruck abrufen lässt. Mit Rail Asset haben Sie die bevorstehenden Instandhaltungsfristen, aber auch festgestellte Mängel am Fahrzeug immer im Blick und können somit Ihre Schienenfahrzeuge rechtzeitig zur Instandhaltung schicken. Die Software weißt ebenso Schnittstellen zu den Ebenen ECM 2 und ECM 4 auf, wodurch die Transparenz gesteigert wird.

Rail Asset unterstützt Sie ebenso bei:

  • der Erfassung und Verfolgung von Schienenfahrzeugen und deren Komponenten in ihren Einheiten,
  • der Erhaltung der technischen Eigenschaften von Schienenfahrzeugen und Komponenten,
  • der Verwaltung sicherheitskritischer Komponenten (Einbau, Ausbau, Software-Versionen),
  • der Rückverfolgbarkeit von Instandhaltungsaktivitäten (Reparaturen, Änderungen usw.),
  • der Wartung und Dokumentation von Wartungsarten nach Herstellerangaben sowie deren Wartungsintervalle,
  • der Verwaltung und Dokumentation von Leistungsdaten von Schienenfahrzeugen und Komponenten (Laufleistung, Betriebsstunden, Zustandsdaten),
  • der Verwaltung von Instandhaltungsmeldungen (präventiv und korrektiv),
  • der Zuordnung und Überwachung von Tests, Umbauten, Modifikationen,
  • der Verwaltung und Überwachung von Nutzungseinschränkungen,
  • der Gewährleistungsüberwachung,
  • der Verwaltung von zertifizierten Werkstätten für Wartungsarbeiten,
  • der Verknüpfung und Bereitstellung von Sensordaten auf Fahrzeug- und Komponentenebene,
  • der Einhaltung von anderen internationalen Standards (ISO Normen, TSI Normen, EN).
Weiter zu Rail Asset

ECM 4-Konformität

Mit Rail Workshop haben wir eine Softwarelösung entwickelt, die Werkstätten über den gesamten Werkstattprozess hinweg unterstützt und somit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur ECM 4-Konformität trägt. Von der Planung, über die Durchführung bis hin zur Betriebsfreigabe wird alles säuberlich dokumentiert und gemäß den Instandhaltungsvorgaben nach ECM 2 abgewickelt.

Rail Workshop unterstützt ECM 4 Verantwortliche durch:

  • Die Verwaltung von Kundenanfragen und -aufträgen für die Instandhaltung von Schienenfahrzeugen oder deren Komponenten.
  • Die Instandhaltung und Durchführung von Instandhaltungsarten (präventiv und korrektiv) sowie die damit verbundenen Arbeitsprozesse, Arbeitspläne, Checklisten, Ersatzteile, Werkzeuge und Qualifikationen.
  • Die Verwaltung, Planung und Ressourcenzuweisung von Fahrzeugabstellplätzen gemäß Kundenauftrag.
  • Ressourcenplanung entsprechend den Instandhaltungsanforderungen von ECM 2.
  • Grafische Anordnung und Planung des Fahrzeugparkens auf Gleisbelegungsplänen.
  • Visualisierung von Arbeitsauslastung und Auftragsfortschritt auf einem Werkstattmonitor.
  • Schnittstellen zu Messmitteln (z.B.: Calipri, Dr. Wehrhahn)
  • Checklistenbasierte mobile Auftragsabwicklung
  • Formale technische Betriebsfreigabe von Schienenfahrzeugen und Übergabe der kompletten Instandhaltungsakte.
  • Dashboard und Auswertungsfunktionalität der Werkstattleistung und -kontrolle.
Weiter zu Rail Workshop

Verordnung EU 2019/779, was ist neu?

Die Durchführungsverordnung (EU) 2019/779 ist seit 16. Juni 2020 in Kraft. Durch sie wurde die Verordnung 445/2011 abgelöst. Was sich konkret durch die Einführung der neuen Verordnung verändert hat, können Sie in unserem Blog Beitrag "Verordnung EU 2019/779, was ist neu?" nachlesen.

Weiter zum Blog Beitrag

Standards

Wir halten nicht nur uns bezüglich Normen und Standards in der Bahnindustrie auf dem Laufenden, sondern auch unsere Software Produkte. So garantieren wir Ihnen, dass unsere Lösungen die relevanten Standards erfüllen.
Das macht Boom zum idealen Partner in allen Softwarefragen rund um Ihre Schienenfahrzeugflotte.

Unsere Rail Experten helfen Ihnen gerne weiter. Kontaktieren Sie uns noch heute und kommen Sie der ECM Konformität einen Schritt weiter.

Kontakt aufnehmen

ECM Funktionen und ihre Verantwortlichkeiten

ECM 1
Managementfunktion

Die  Einführung des Instandhaltungssystems liegt in der Verantwortung der Managementfunktion (ECM 1). Die Kernaufgabe des ECM ist die Beaufsichtigung und Koordination der Funktionen ECM 2 bis ECM 4.

Die Rolle des ECM 1 ist ausschließlich intern zu erbringen, wobei eine Unterstützung von Externen nicht ausgeschlossen ist.

1
ECM 2
Entwicklungsfunktion

Im Wesentlichen ist die Instandhaltungs- entwicklungsfunktion für die Erstellung und Änderungen von Instandhaltungsvorgaben zuständig. Von dieser Funktion erfolgt auch die Verwaltung der Instandhaltungsdaten des Schienenfahrzeugs. Zudem liegt die Einhaltung von Normen und gesetzlichen Anforderungen ebenso in ihrem Verantwortungsbereich.

2
ECM 3
Fuhrparkmanagement

Die Rolle des ECM 3 Verantwortlichen hat die Aufgabe der Verwaltung des Aussetzens von Schienenfahrzeugen zur Instandhaltung. Durch den ECM 3 werden die Auftragserteilung und die anschließende Wiederinbetriebnahme durchgeführt.

Die Wiederinbetriebnahme des Fahrzeuges schließt unteranderem auch die Kontrollmaßnahmen beim Instandhaltungserbringer ein. So liegt die Auswahl der geeigneten Werkstatt ebenso in den Händen des ECM 3 Verantwortlichen. Er muss darauf achten, dass nur Werkstätten beauftragt werden, welche das ECM Zertifikat aufweisen.

3
ECM 4
Erbringungsfunktion

Unter ECM 4 versteht man Werkstätten mit einer dementsprechenden ECM Zertifizierung. Sie sind für die Durchführung der Instandhaltung von Schienenfahrzeugen zuständig. Dabei müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass die entsprechenden Vorgaben des ECM 2 eingehalten werden. Als Kontrolle dessen, muss die Werkstatt die Nachweisführung zur Instandhaltung inklusive der Betriebsfreigabeunterlagen vorweisen.

4

Die  Einführung des Instandhaltungssystems liegt in der Verantwortung der Managementfunktion (ECM 1). Die Kernaufgabe des ECM ist die Beaufsichtigung und Koordination der Funktionen ECM 2 bis ECM 4.

Die Rolle des ECM 1 ist ausschließlich intern zu erbringen, wobei eine Unterstützung von Externen nicht ausgeschlossen ist.

Im Wesentlichen ist die Instandhaltungs- entwicklungsfunktion für die Erstellung und Änderungen von Instandhaltungsvorgaben zuständig. Von dieser Funktion erfolgt auch die Verwaltung der Instandhaltungsdaten des Schienenfahrzeugs. Zudem liegt die Einhaltung von Normen und gesetzlichen Anforderungen ebenso in ihrem Verantwortungsbereich.

Die Rolle des ECM 3 Verantwortlichen hat die Aufgabe der Verwaltung des Aussetzens von Schienenfahrzeugen zur Instandhaltung. Durch den ECM 3 werden die Auftragserteilung und die anschließende Wiederinbetriebnahme durchgeführt.

Die Wiederinbetriebnahme des Fahrzeuges schließt unteranderem auch die Kontrollmaßnahmen beim Instandhaltungserbringer ein. So liegt die Auswahl der geeigneten Werkstatt ebenso in den Händen des ECM 3 Verantwortlichen. Er muss darauf achten, dass nur Werkstätten beauftragt werden, welche das ECM Zertifikat aufweisen.

Unter ECM 4 versteht man Werkstätten mit einer dementsprechenden ECM Zertifizierung. Sie sind für die Durchführung der Instandhaltung von Schienenfahrzeugen zuständig. Dabei müssen Sie sicherstellen, dass die entsprechenden Vorgaben des ECM 2 eingehalten werden. Als Kontrolle dessen, muss die Werkstatt die Nachweisführung zur Instandhaltung inklusive der Betriebsfreigabeunterlagen vorweisen.

"Mit Rail Solutions und der Funktion der mobilen Betriebsdatenerfassung steht einer kompletten Digitalisierung der Instandhaltung von Schienenfahrzeugen und deren Auftragsabwicklung nichts mehr im Weg. Mit Rail Solutions ist man für das papierlose Zeitalter optimal vorbereitet."

Bernhard Labenbacher
Senior Business Analyst & Senior IT Projektleiter, ÖBB-Technische Services GmbH

"Die Software bietet Funktionen auf allen Ebenen unserer Fahrzeug-Instandhaltungsprozesse und ist auf unsere Bedürfnisse abgestimmt. Besonders die Funktionen im Radsatzmanagement haben uns unterstützt, eines der modernsten Radsatzaufarbeitungszentren in Europa aufzubauen."

Michael Fladenhofer
Prozess-Consulting, Rail Cargo Austria AG

"Mit unseren Standardschnittstellen zu verschiedenen Messsystemen von z.B. NextSense oder Dr. Wehrhahn können wir Leistungen weit über die Standardfunktionen einer Instandhaltungssoftware hinaus anbieten. Die Messdaten werden automatisch übernommen und für Verschleiß- und Mängelbewertung sowie auch für Trendanalysen für die prädiktive Instandhaltung herangezogen."

Natascha Man
Product Manager Rail Solutions, Boom Software AG

"Bei der Abwicklung unserer internationalen Projekte ist es für uns wichtig, dass wir einen kompetenten Partner haben, dessen Lösungen sich flexibel und einfach an unterschiedliche Rahmenbedingungen und Komplexitätsgrade der Projekte unserer Kunden anpassen. Dies zusammen mit der Auslegung der Software auf multinationale Anforderungen, wie Mehrsprachigkeit oder Abbildung von Konzernstrukturen, hat Boom als Partner für unsere Projekte absolut qualifiziert."

Manfred Bock
Global Industry Leader Rail, T-Systems International GmbH

"Mit dem mit Boom Software gemeinsam entwickelten Calipri-Explorer stehen die von unseren Messgeräten gesammelten Daten unseren Kunden schnell und einfach zur Analyse zur Verfügung."

Clemens Gasser
Geschäftsführer, Nextsense GmbH

Von der Planung, bis zur operativen Durchführung und lückenlosen Dokumentation wird alles in der Zukunft durch den BMM gesteuert.

Bettina Lamprecht
Marketing Manager
Mehr

Seit 2017 wird die Werkstattplanung für die Stadtbahnen der ÜSTRA Hannoversche Verkehrsbetriebe AG durch den BMM gesteuert. Dieses Nahverkehrsunternehmen optimiert stetig die Instandhaltung und schafft somit mehr Effizienz im Bahnverkehr.

Tanja Gosch
Head of Marketing & Product Management
Mehr
Fokus auf
Bahn
Blog
Roman
Rail Asset - die Software, die Ihr Schienenfahrzeug in den Mittelpunkt stellt
Beitrag vom 6. August 2020

365 Tage im Jahr Ihre Schienenfahrzeuge im Blick haben? Durch unsere Rail Asset Biografie wird dies möglich.

Mehr
Bora
Megatrend Digitalisierung - Wettbewerbsvorteile für Werkstätten
Beitrag vom 10. August 2020

Steigende Anforderungen an die Produktivität und Fahrzeugverfügbarkeit, strenge Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsvorgaben: Die rasant verändernden Rahmenbedingungen setzen Bahnverkehrsunternehmen unter Druck. Die digitale Werkstätte verspricht neue Möglichkeiten und Lösungen.

Mehr
Roman
Bahn frei für Rail Workshop
Beitrag vom 3. September 2020

Rail Workshop ist die standardisierte Softwarelösung für ein effizientes und digitales Werkstatt-Management.

Mehr