Fully comprehensive workshop management in Luxembourg

Securing the mobility of tomorrow, that is the goal of the CFL Group. To achieve this, all processes have to run smoothly – including the workshop processes. A digital, fully comprehensive workshop management system provides a remedy: and that’s where the BMM (BOOM MAINTENANCE MANAGER) comes in. From planning to operative execution and complete documentation, everything will be controlled in future by the BMM.

Société Nationale des Chemins de Fer Luxembourgeois, in short CFL, is the national railway company of Luxembourg. It is responsible for the operation, maintenance and development of the infrastructure of the Luxembourg national rail network. The company is divided into three divisions: passenger transport, freight transport and infrastructure management. Each year, it carries more than 25 million passengers and around 2,440 million tonne-kilometres of goods.

The BMM was integrated as a mobile workshop solution into the existing IT system landscape of CFL in order to optimize planning processes on the one hand and to reduce unnecessary downtimes and unnecessary shunting movements on the other. Therefore, the functional scope of the BMM includes the following features:

  • Personnel administration
  • Management of the workshop infrastructure
  • ECM compliant vehicle documentation
  • Fault management
  • Maintenance and repair of vehicles
  • Planning support

Safety and quality

The BMM makes a significant contribution to workshop planning. It is used to allocate the required resources to the individual orders. This ensures that the activities to be carried out on the vehicle are only carried out by qualified personnel and that these employees have the appropriate tools and work space at their disposal. By using the BMM, it is always traceable who carried out which maintenance work on the vehicle and which tools were used for doing so. In addition, the documentation of the activities is carried out by the workshop personnel directly on the vehicle, thus ensuring complete documentation. The BMM thus supports the establishment of safety and quality as standard at CFL.

Effectiveness and Efficiency

A particular added value provided by the BMM is the achieved transparency. The workshop monitor in the BMM clearly shows the current and upcoming activities, as well as the availability of resources. With this information an optimal workshop utilization is made possible. This also shows a positive effect on the lead times from planning to completion.

„The Boom Maintenance Manager makes workshop activities at CFL much easier: From resource planning to maintenance work, our operational processes are thus accelerated and optimized,” says Mr. Marc Casenave, manager in the rolling stock department at CFL.

 

Photo credit: © CFL

Back to overview
Focus on
Rail
Blog
Bora
"Digitaler Mauerfall" as the railway challenge 2021: The fusion of ECM2 & ECM3
Post from 14. January 2021

2021 stands under the theme "Making efficiency of rolling stock programmable".

More
Katharina
Railway undertakings on the road to success: leading the way with Lean Smart Maintenance
Post from 28. January 2021

Lean Smart Maintenance not only increases the efficiency, reliability and availability of vehicles and workshops. It also clearly represents a business and strategic advantage for RUs!

More
Roman
Smart data and railroad: Railway undertakings have a duty to act
Post from 10. February 2021

Sensors enable the collection of a wide range of data to provide real-time information on the condition of rail vehicles.

More

Vollumfängliches Werkstätten-Management in Luxemburg

Die Sicherstellung der Mobilität von morgen, dass ist das Ziel der CFL-Gruppe. Um das zu erreichen, müssen alle Prozesse reibungslos funktionieren – so auch die Werkstattprozesse. Abhilfe hierfür schafft der Einsatz eines digitalen, vollumfänglichen Werkstätten-Managements: und schon kommt der BMM (BOOM MAINTENANCE MANAGER) ins Spiel. Von der Planung, bis zur operativen Durchführung und lückenlosen Dokumentation wird alles in der Zukunft durch den BMM gesteuert.

Société Nationale des Chemins de Fer Luxembourgeois, kurz CFL, ist die staatliche Eisenbahngesellschaft Luxemburgs. Durch das Unternehmen erfolgt der Betrieb, die Instandhaltung und der Ausbau der Infrastruktur des nationalen luxemburgischen Schienennetzes. Folgende drei Bereiche werden durch die CFL abgedeckt: Personenbeförderung, Güterverkehr und Infrastrukturmanagement. Jährlichen werden durch sie mehr als 25 Millionen Fahrgäste befördert und rund 2.440 Millionen Tonnenkilometer Güter transportiert. Um diese Leistungen zu erbringen, stehen dem Unternehmen 220 Fahrzeuge zur Verfügung.

Der BMM wurde als mobile Werkstattlösung in die bestehende IT-Systemlandschaft von CFL integriert, um einerseits die Planungsprozesse zu optimieren und andererseits überflüssige Standzeiten und unnötige Rangierfahrten zu reduzieren. Daher beläuft sich der Funktionsumfang des BMM auf folgende Leistungsmerkmale:

  • Personalverwaltung
  • Verwaltung der Werkstätten-Infrastruktur
  • ECM konforme Fahrzeugdokumentation
  • Störmanagement
  • Instandhaltung und Instandsetzung der Fahrzeuge
  • Planungsunterstützung

Sicherheit und Qualität

Der BMM trägt einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Werkstattplanung bei. Über ihn werden die benötigten Ressourcen den einzelnen Aufträgen zugeteilt. So wird sichergestellt, dass die durchzuführenden Tätigkeiten am Fahrzeug nur durch das dafür qualifizierte Personal erledigt werden und diesen Mitarbeitern die entsprechenden Werkzeuge und Arbeitsbereiche zur Verfügung stehen. Durch den Einsatz des BMM ist es stets nachvollziehbar wer am Fahrzeug welche Wartungsarbeiten durchgeführt hat und welche Werkzeuge dafür verwendet wurden. Zusätzlich erfolgt die Dokumentation der durchgeführten Tätigkeiten durch das Werkstattpersonal direkt am Fahrzeug, sodass eine lückenlose Dokumentation gewährleistet wird. Der BMM unterstützt somit bei der Etablierung von Sicherheit und Qualität als Standard bei CFL.

Effektivität und Effizienz

Ein besonderer Mehrwert den der BMM liefert, ist die geschaffene Transparenz. Der Werkstattmonitor im BMM zeigt die aktuellen und bevorstehenden Tätigkeiten klarersichtlich an, sowie auch die Verfügbarkeit der Ressourcen. Mit diesen Informationen wird eine optimale Werkstattauslastung ermöglicht. Zusätzlich wirkt sich das auch positiv auf die Durchlaufzeiten von Planung bis Fertigstellung aus.

„Der Boom Maintenance Manager erleichtert die Werkstattaktivitäten bei der CFL deutlich: Von der Planung der Ressourcen bis hin zu den Instandhaltungsarbeiten selbst werden unsere betrieblichen Prozesse so beschleunigt und optimiert“, so Herr Marc Casenave,  Manager in der Abteilung für Rollmaterial der CFL.

 

Bildquelle: © CFL

Zurück zur Übersicht
Fokus auf
Bahn
Blog
Roman
Rail Asset - die Software, die Ihr Schienenfahrzeug in den Mittelpunkt stellt
Beitrag vom 6. August 2020

365 Tage im Jahr Ihre Schienenfahrzeuge im Blick haben? Durch unsere Rail Asset Biografie wird dies möglich.

Mehr
Bora
Megatrend Digitalisierung - Wettbewerbsvorteile für Werkstätten
Beitrag vom 10. August 2020

Steigende Anforderungen an die Produktivität und Fahrzeugverfügbarkeit, strenge Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsvorgaben: Die rasant verändernden Rahmenbedingungen setzen Bahnverkehrsunternehmen unter Druck. Die digitale Werkstätte verspricht neue Möglichkeiten und Lösungen.

Mehr
Roman
Bahn frei für Rail Workshop
Beitrag vom 3. September 2020

Rail Workshop ist die standardisierte Softwarelösung für ein effizientes und digitales Werkstatt-Management.

Mehr